Rik’s Reads: Top February Issues

After hunting all month, I finally scored February issues I’ve been waiting to get my hands on.

On Saturday, after my usual magazine hunt at my local (and almost only) Barnes & Noble, I caught myself on the phone with one of my best friends. I had a confession: “Cleveland, I just spent $10 on a magazine.” He. Was. Livid. I explained, “Some people splurge on cars. I splurge on magazines.” He said that wasn’t an equivalent comparison, and in retrospect, I agree. However, I spend money on things (and people) I love. And I love magazines.

Now that my ode is over, keep reading for the top February issues I “splurged” on this month.

VOGUE

Lena Dunham and costar Adam Driver in “That Girl” featured in VOGUE’s February 2014 issue.

The hunt for this issue was entirely too real. Vogue released the cover of its February issue with the devastatingly talented Lena Dunham from the HBO series Girls and I couldn’t stop retweeting, reblogging and sending text messages to friends. I visited Barnes & Noble and Walgreens far too many times, before stumbling upon it during an impromptu visit to Walmart. Needless to say, I will cherish this issue. The spread on Dunham (shot by Annie Leibovitz) alongside her TV screen boo drop, Adam (his real name is Adam, too), is pretty neat to say the least. Who would have ever thought that Ms. Dunham was a fashion connisuer who, by the way, was featured in the fashion bible as a teenager, sans photo in 1998. If you get a chance, read the article on the 20-something unapologetic writer. NOTE: The word Zeitgeist is used far too much in this issue.

INTERVIEW

Kanye West in Interview’s February 2014 issue.

I began my hunt for this issue of Interview after seeing a picture of Kanye on my Tumblr dashboard. Since I missed the Yeezus tour in Chicago this past fall, I decided I’d drop 10 bucks on a Kanye-covered magazine. Thumbing through it, it’s a little eerie, a lot of topless, and sometimes pant-less and boxer-less, in a fashion spread shot by Mert Alas. Sophie Kennedy on saying “orgasm” for the first time. Then there’s Kanye in Alexander McQueen masks and “his own boxers” reads the caption. But, what’s Interview without a little bit of, uh, oddity. Aside from the nudity and sexual terms, the coolest feature in this issue is 12 Years a Slave director, Steve McQueen, interviewing Kanye West. A director gets an egotistical, nonstop creator to open up about why he won’t stop until everyone believes he’s the greatest. *Cues “Black Skinhead” followed by “New Slaves.”*

W

Pretty girls Joan Smalls and Jourdan Dunn in W’s February 2014 issue.

I wasn’t all for the cover of this issue showing a pixie-cut wearing JLaw looking caught off guard. But I was for her Dolce & Gabbana two-piece that I’m currently craving (both the piece itself and the body to wear the piece). However, I went on the hunt for this tall publication after catching a glimpse of a Joan Smalls and Jourdan Dunn photo from the spread featured in this issue. Fast forward to purchasing the issue and I was floored. The photos, shot by Patrick Demarchelier, run in black-and-white and show Smalls and Dunn larger than life. Donning classic pieces by Vera Wang, Donna Karan, Etro and more, the two take charge. In addition to these two HB’sIC, cool-guy Chiwetel Ejifor takes a cool shot in a unidentified room and my distant, soon-to-be lover Michael B. Jordan sits atop a car with gleaming pearly whites (I fell in love yet again).

JET

Kendrick Lamar is my latest obsession.

Kendrick Lamar is on the front cover. The end.

Leave a Reply

