Fashion: Let’s Talk Spring

With the polar vortex sending us into cabin fever, ugly sweaters and even uglier boots (UGGS), it’s safe to say that we’ve forgotten what warm weather even feels like. To cure some of your winter blues, I’m curating looks from Fashion Week 2013 that will set your eyes on a brighter and warmer near future. This season, we’re playing nice. Forget tight-fitting, uncomfortable ensembles, we’re going for something less stressful and more logical.

(Almost) Knee-Length Shorts

Who wears short, shorts? Apparently, not us gals this coming spring. Opt out of your Daisy Dukes and slip into what I’m theming the return of the Bermuda short.

Jil Sander

Jason Wu

Matthew Williamson

Loose-fitting skirts

What goes for shorts, goes for skirts this season. Although my constant visits to H&M has led me to believe that the mini, denim skirt is trying its hardest to make a comeback, I’d rather wait for its arrival in a drop-waist skirt, such as the pink-and-white number below from Balmain.

3.1 Phillip Lim

Balmain

Diane von Furstenberg

Split Up

Subtle thigh action hit the runways tough in September and I am all for it. The look can be just that inch of skin that takes you from school girl to rocker chic, careless hippie to chicest it-girl. No need to demand attention with this look, it’ll be coming after you.

rag & bone

Alexander Wang

Altuzarra

 

Loose-Fitting Pants

Less skinny jeans, more room for fun. With all of the relaxed materials featured in pants this season, I’m ready to skip, jump and leap without any restrictions.

Jason Wu

Acne

3.1 Phillip Lim

 Pastels

I mused over Burberry’s advertisement in Vogue for minutes after seeing it. The all-pastel color palette was everything needed to get a summer baby, like myself, geared up for the season. Sweetly bold is what I call it. From shoes to purses, pants to dresses it’s logical, basic and classic. Just what I need to ensure the fun summer that I am anticipating.

BCBG Max Azria

Calvin Klein

Burberry Prorsum

 Bonus: Sneakers & Dresses

Karl Lagerfeld premiered his spring couture collection in January, and I swooned. Complete with Joan Smalls and Cara Delevingne, sneakers and dresses, I can’t wait to take the city in what I hope to be the hautest trend of the season.

Chanel

Leave a Reply

