Opinions: “Dear White People” & Sundance

Dear White People stomped into the Sundance Film Festival and dared to start a conversation.

Dear White People stomped into the Sundance Film Festival and dared to start a conversation.

I attended what’s been thumbed a PWI–Predominantly White Institutions–for undergraduate study. Things happened. Bad things (Cotton balls strewn in the front of our Black Culture Center). Good things (Staying on the Dean’s List all four years of college). Things that made me question my place in society (Whether or not I’ll ever rise to the top when I’ve been socially constructed to stay at the bottom). You know, those kind of things. I received a Bachelor of Journalism degree with a minor in Black Studies. I am still continually questioned why I chose Black Studies and what do I plan to do with it. Lo and behold, I stumble upon the gem that is Dear White People. After reading the article on New York mag, I learned that the film was shown at the Sundance Film Festival and has since been whispering across countless news sites and blogs. A quick Google search will populate all you need to know about the film, so I won’t go into detail. I will say, however, that it challenges the stereotypes and the strifes of Black students on PWIs and unveils their realities. I’ll end here before my Black Studies minor kicks in. See the trailer below and wait for it to hit theaters.

Leave a Reply

